The Cities of Mattoon and Charleston, Illinois held a Joint City Council meeting in the Lifespan Center Theatre on December 8, 2015 at 6:30 p.m.

Mayor Gover called for roll call to be taken for City of Mattoon Council as follows: YEA Commissioner Dave Cox, YEA Commissioner Sandra Graven, YEA Commissioner Rick Hall, YEA Commissioner Preston Owen, YEA Mayor Tim Gover.

City Administrator Kyle Gill introduced City personnel who were also physically present: City Attorney Janett Winter-Black, Finance Director/Treasurer Beth Wright, Fire Chief Tony Nichols, Police Chief Jeff Branson, Arts & Tourism Director Angelia Burgett, and City Clerk Susan O'Brien.

Mayor Brandon Combs called for roll call to be taken for the City of Charleston Council as follows: YEA Council member Jim Dunn, YEA Council member Jeff Lahr, YEA Council member Matthew Hutti, YEA Mayor Brandon Combs. Council member Tim Newell was absent.

City Manager Scott Smith introduced City personnel who were also physically present: City Attorney Rachel Cunningham, Police Chief Bryan Baker, Fire Chief Pat Goodwin, Assistant Fire Chief Steve Bennett, Public Works Director Curt Buescher, City Planner Steve Pamperin, Comptroller Heather Kuykendall, HR Director Dustha Wahls, Parks & Recreation Director Brian Jones, Code Enforcement Official Alex Winkler.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Mayor Combs introduced Blair Lord, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, from Eastern Illinois University. Mr. Lord provided accolades for EIU's new President Dr. Glassman, a number of accreditations of the University, future graduate school initiatives, developing collaboratives with surrounding entities, and future endeavors including community service recognitions.

Mayor Combs introduced Lake Land College President Dr. Jonathan Bullock. President Bullock provided information on LLC accreditation, strategic plans, top recognitions, and collaboratives with surrounding entities.

The floor was opened for any questions with no response. The academia guests left the meeting.

Mayor Gover introduced Coles Together President Angela Griffin. President Griffin updated the Councils on workforce development and other activities to engage students in the area, economic development activities, and Enterprise Zone 2020 re-application. Mayor Gover opened the floor for questions with no response.

Mayor Combs introduced Kevin McReynolds, Community Planner/Housing Manager, of Coles County Regional Planning and Development Commission (CCRP-DC). Manager McReynolds updated the Councils on the GIS mapping activities and Housing programs. Mr. Bob Becker, consultant, provided an update on the Commercial Reassessments in the County. Mayor Combs opened the floor for questions with no response.

Mayor Gover introduced the cooperative endeavors between the Cities. Administrator Gill elaborated on Coles Alliance activities including mutual attendance at the Coles Executive Board, Corridor Review Committee, and Electrical Aggregation. Manager Smith elaborated on the Electrical Aggregation and Joint Meetings demonstrating the cooperation between communities.

Mayor Gover introduced Police Chief Branson. Chief Branson and Chief Baker described mutual efforts by the Police Departments on the Safe Street Task Force, shared crime scene equipment, CIT unit, ECITF, Crime Scene Tech specialist, and sharing of server storage space for body-wearing cameras.

Mayor Gover introduced Fire Chief Tony Nichols. Chief Nichols and Chief Goodwin described the mutual efforts between Fire Departments including RIT teams, dual response corridor on Rt. 16, ambulance coverages, equipment sharing, haz mat and rescue teams, and MAVIS 26. Assistant Chief Steve Bennett further elaborated on an industrial accident with a successful outcome.

Both Mayors described the good relationships both Cities have. Administrator Gill elaborated on the water interconnect between cities and usage.

Mayor Gover called for Commissioner comments. The Commissioners stated appreciation for the cooperation between cities and stated the long-term success of both cities depends on cooperation.

Mayor Combs called for Council member comments. The Council members expressed their appreciation with the cooperative efforts.

The Mayors expressed their appreciation in the cooperation between cities.

Commissioner Hall seconded by Council member Dunn moved to adjourn at 7:50 p.m.

The motion was carried by the following vote: YEA Commissioner Dave Cox, YEA Commissioner Sandra Graven, YEA Commissioner Rick Hall, NAY Commissioner Preston Owen, YEA Mayor Tim Gover, YEA Jim Dunn, YEA Jeff Lahr, YEA Matthew Hutti, YEA Mayor Brandon Combs. Council member Tim Newell was absent.

/s/ Susan J. O'Brien City Clerk